New Year’s Resolutions

I don’t usually make new year’s resolutions, but this year I’ve made a few.  A major one is to get back to posting regularly!  Secondary to that, I’ve decided that I need to entertain more at home, so that might benefit the blog as well, since there is usually food involved in entertaining!

Speaking of food, I got a crockpot for Christmas!  For its inagural run, I decided to make a recipe from The America’s Test Kitchen Family Cookbook, which I also received for Christmas.  There is an entire chapter devoted to slow cooker and pressure cooker recipes.  Eventually I settled on Lamb Vindaloo.

I was a little concerned about my ability to find a boneless leg of lamb, but it was right there in the Star market by my work.  It was a little over five pounds – huge!

After trimming off most of the fat (and skin?) I cut the lamb up into big chunks, about 1½ inch cubes.  After seasoning with salt and pepper they were seared in some oil.  It smelled so good!

While this was going on, Tim played sous-chef and chopped onions and garlic.

I cooked down the onions, then added spices and then the garlic.  This also smelled wonderful!

The meat and the onions were refrigerated separately overnight and then in the morning I dumped them all into the crock pot with some broth and let it cook all day.  Once I got home I thickened the sauce with some flour, added some fresh cilantro and made some basmati rice.

It was a wonderful meal!  And it made so much that we had leftovers for days – which is an amazing thing considering the voracious appetite of my sous-chef!

I have a feeling that the crock pot will be making many appearances on our dinner table for the next few months!

0 Responses to “New Year’s Resolutions”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment




craftykeg’s blog

Craft, food, fun and creativity all come together here!

Subscribe to craftykeg!

Handmade Christmas

Projects Done: 34
Projects to Go: 0!

All projects are finished! Check back here after Christmas to see pictures of everything all together, and all of the super secret projects!
January 2010
S M T W T F S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31