Archive for February 12th, 2009

Volume = 4/3∏r³

I’ve been noticing for a while now that my knitting philosophy has been changing.  I’ve been resisting it for a while.  I’d always been a product knitter – simply choosing projects that will yield me with something that I can use.  Especially when it came to gift giving.  Of course, I wanted the things I made to look good, and I took care to make sure they did, but the end product was still the goal, whether it was a little toy, a hat, or some mittens.

I never really thought about how knitting works too much until recently, it was just another craft medium in my repertoire.  And although I won’t ever give up sewing or anything else, knitting just seems so enthralling and magical lately.  (I’m sure you’ve noticed that trend here though…)

So, I have to admit to myself that I think I’m starting to become a process knitter.  I think that the picture above proves that.  It’s a short-row sphere.  I don’t need a knitted sphere.  Actually, I don’t have any place to even put a knitted sphere.  But I had a horrible need to learn short-rows.  Why?  I have no idea.  In the past, I would have not even given it a thought until I started a project that used them.  And then I would have just learned them as a went along, not minding that I made mistakes the first few times.   But, now I know, and I feel better having done it.

Then again, maybe I’m just trying to ignore the fact that I’m coming down to crunch time for this whole PhD thesis thing and I’m distracting myself with knitting like a crazy fool.


craftykeg’s blog

Craft, food, fun and creativity all come together here!

Subscribe to craftykeg!

Handmade Christmas

Projects Done: 34
Projects to Go: 0!

All projects are finished! Check back here after Christmas to see pictures of everything all together, and all of the super secret projects!
February 2009
S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728