Shalom!

I spent the first part of my Christmas vacation furiously knitting this cute capped sleeve cardigan called Shalom (the pattern link is on the right hand side of the site, a little ways down).    Yarn is Wool of the Andes Bulky in Pewter from KnitPicks.  I used about 3 1/2 hanks for a total of 480 yards (total price, about $15!), on size US11 needles.  I did shorten the pattern a bit since I am quite short.  I just took out 2 stockinette rows between each of the waist shaping rows.

I’ve worn this once, even though I didn’t get a chance to block it yet.  I was just too excited, and vacation is not exactly the easiest time to block something.

The buttons are from my grandmother’s button tin which I inherited about ten years ago.  In the tin are all the buttons that she ever had – before throwing away any old clothes (or more likely, making them into rags) she cut all of the buttons off and saved them.  Word has it from my mom and aunt that these came from a winter coat that only had 2 or 3 buttons at the top.  They are 1 1/4 inch buttons, which worked out perfectly with the buttonholes described in the pattern!

This was my first sweater ever, and I’m so excited about it.  In fact, I was so excited to start knitting for me again that I bout yarn for 2 sweaters – the second is in progress now, I’ll share a bit in a few days!

3 Responses to “Shalom!”


  1. 1 redfear January 6, 2009 at 10:44 am

    That turned out beautifully! and love the buttons – how wonderful to have them from your grandmother.

  2. 2 Tamara January 8, 2009 at 11:14 pm

    Janet looks fetching in your sweater!

  3. 3 Prairie Girl February 6, 2009 at 12:02 am

    I happened across your site tonight and I’m thinking of doing this as my first-ever sweater, too!

    You did a lovely job, and I really like it with 2 buttons as opposed to one.


Leave a Reply

craftykeg’s blog

Craft, food, fun and creativity all come together here!

Subscribe to craftykeg!

Handmade Christmas

Projects Done: 34
Projects to Go: 0!

All projects are finished! Check back here after Christmas to see pictures of everything all together, and all of the super secret projects!
January 2009
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

