Squirrel-y Antics

I took a slight deviation from Christmas crafting for this project.  My dad has recently retired and my sister and I conspired to give him this funny gift.  In order for it to be funny, you need to know that my grandfather (my dad’s dad) has a hobby in the summertime of trapping the squirrels in his yard and transporting them across the river so that they don’t eat his garden.   So, this was us saying to our dad that since he is now an old, retired man that he would have to learn how to trap squirrels.

My sister supplied the tiny squirrel, which was actually a Christmas ornament that she bought at Crate and Barrel.  Tim and I built the fake trap/cage.  Please excuse it’s slight lean.  Master woodworkers we are not.  Also, we were not able to locate the exact size of drill bit to match the dowels, which would have made things a lot easier!

The finished product:

Presenting it to my father, who thought it was quite hilarious:

During the weekend the squirrel kept showing up in unusual places.  Hanging from the light in the kitchen, chilling out in the fridge, and I think we left him someplace undetected.  Have fun finding him mom and dad!

1 Response to “Squirrel-y Antics”


  1. 1 pdxknitterati December 2, 2008 at 2:54 am

    That is so cute! I’ve had my own good-natured battles with squirrels, and your present for your dad made me laugh out loud.


Leave a Reply

craftykeg’s blog

Craft, food, fun and creativity all come together here!

Subscribe to craftykeg!

Handmade Christmas

Projects Done: 34
Projects to Go: 0!

All projects are finished! Check back here after Christmas to see pictures of everything all together, and all of the super secret projects!
December 2008
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

