WIP: Convertible Mittens

I’m making these convertible mittens for my dad for Christmas.  (The pattern is here.)  My dad is forever putting his gloves on and off, so I thought mittens that had tops that folded down would be the perfect thing.  I’ve completely finished one (except weaving in the ends) and I’ve got most of the second one done – I just need to put on the mitten cap.  However, I think I need to make the mitten cap taller, since they fit ok on me right now.  I’ll have to stealthily compare my hand size to my father’s over Thanksgiving!

The yarn is Paton’s Classic Wool Merino in the forest colorway.  The colors aren’t as different as they show up in the photo, so the dark stripe isn’t quite so dark.  At first I wasn’t thrilled with the pooling, but it’s not too bad once you get used to it!  Hopefully I can use my downtime during Thanksgiving to finish up the second one and make any size modifications to this one that might be needed.

0 Responses to “WIP: Convertible Mittens”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

craftykeg’s blog

Craft, food, fun and creativity all come together here!

Subscribe to craftykeg!

Handmade Christmas

Projects Done: 34
Projects to Go: 0!

All projects are finished! Check back here after Christmas to see pictures of everything all together, and all of the super secret projects!
November 2008
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

