In the Kitchen…

I had a very productive weekend in the kitchen – here are the highlights.

First, I planted some basil a few days ago and it’s beginning to sprout.  I have a great skylight in my new kitchen so it gets plenty of sun all day. It will be so nice to be able to reach fresh basil without having to move far from the stove!

so tiny - so much potential!

Secondly, I started a batch of vanilla extract.  It took me forever to find some bottles that I actually liked, but I finally lucked out in the Christmas Tree Shop.  I started this on Saturday, it already has a tinge of brown to it, so my first attempt at this seems to be working.

vanilla extract in the beggining - more like vanilla flavored vodka!

Last, I was given a very large zucchini from the garden of Tim and I decided to make zucchini bread – a double batch of zucchini bread, to be exact.  I wish I had thought to make pictures while I was mixing up the batter – I used my largest bowl, which is pretty huge, and it was full to the brim of batter!  I made 6 loaves of bread – two big and four small.  Each big loaf is a little over 3 cups of batter, while the smaller ones took about 1 1/2 cups of batter each.  I think we’ll be eating zucchini bread for a while!

wow, that's a lot of bread!

0 Responses to “In the Kitchen…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

craftykeg’s blog

Craft, food, fun and creativity all come together here!

Subscribe to craftykeg!

Handmade Christmas

Projects Done: 34
Projects to Go: 0!

All projects are finished! Check back here after Christmas to see pictures of everything all together, and all of the super secret projects!
August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

