HOW TO: Craftily Organize Your Purses on the Cheap

I promised that today would be awesome, and it is!  Now that I’m moved into the World’s Tiniest Apartment ™, I realized that I somehow have amassed far to many purses.  I had absolutely no way to organize them.  I made something up, and it looks a little something like this:

I organized the shoes later, I swear!

Ignoring for a moment the rest of the clutter in that photo, here is how you can also have a supremely awesome purse organizational system.

Step 1: Get a few over the door hooks.  These used to hold my ironing board, but I’ve found a different place for it now.

hooks are happy!

Step 2: Dig through your fabric stash for extra fabric that has a decent length to it.  I picked a pink flowery fabric that I don’t know why I have.  Cut two long strips (door length, in fact) about 3 inches wide.  As you’ll see from the picture, I didn’t try to hard to cut in a straight line.  I did use pinking shears though, since I wasn’t in the mood to hem these.  (You could hem them – that would probably make them a more permanent solution, but I only need these for a few months.)  Tie these onto the door hooks.

Step 3: About every 5-6 inches cut two slits parallel to eachother, about 1 inch long each.  They should end up looking like this:

go on, poke your finger through it, I know you want to!

Step 4: Cut some smaller fabric strips, about 14 inches long – cut enough to correspond to all the slits you just made.

strippy strips!

Step 5: Tie each of these strips around the center of the slits you cut in step 3.

pink flowers - pretty

The overall effect will look like this – see why I didn’t worry about cutting in a straight line all that much?

oh no, more messy closet!

Step 6: Tie each strip around the handles of a purse – don’t knot it too tight, or you’ll never get it off!

Step 7: Repeat with all subsequent purses.  Enjoy your newfound organization and wonder how long it will last.  If you decide to make something similar, please share it in the comments!

whoo hoo, finished baby!

Note: I’ve desinged this as a temporary solution while living in the Wold’s Tiniest Apartment ™, but for a longer term solution, canvas might work well, with zig-zag stitching around each slit, comparable to a large buttonhole.

5 Responses to “HOW TO: Craftily Organize Your Purses on the Cheap”


  1. 1 sandrar September 10, 2009 at 8:50 am

    Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. :) Cheers! Sandra. R.

  2. 2 Antonio June 19, 2013 at 10:43 am

    Most importantly, the bassinet needs to have
    a wide, sturdy base. Recently, I discovered that bassinets were being offered in
    non-traditional styles, such as round, and I am sooo jealous that
    I have already had my three babies, and being recently divorced, don’t know if I will have any more children that would need such a piece. Test the mattress for firmness by pressing a finger to it.

  3. 3 bunn coffee maker amazon June 30, 2013 at 3:10 pm

    The above process may appear very tedious and formidable to some people but also in
    order to generate your coffeemaker last longer, it’s well worth the time and effort. It grows in many tropical places, many of which are extremely poor countries with very little industry or development. A amount of times, these coffee producers are named “siphon” or “syphon” coffee producers because with the procedure the coffee follows when relocating derived from one of enclosed space to another.

  4. 4 Corey July 26, 2013 at 9:19 pm

    They utilize tagua to produce bracelets, necklaces, and earrings.
    You may also want to see whether the outfit you
    plan to wear is casual or formal or somewhere in between.
    However, choosing beads or crystals with similar colors or shapes
    may help you put together themes which might be eye catching and attractive.

  5. 5 ipod home audio accessories July 28, 2013 at 12:51 pm

    Additionally, some receivers serve being a DVD or Blu-ray player.
    Everyone has their very own taste with regards to entertainment, from movies to
    television to music. Good multichannel is something I
    like to call high definition audio.


Leave a Reply

craftykeg’s blog

Craft, food, fun and creativity all come together here!

Subscribe to craftykeg!

Handmade Christmas

Projects Done: 34
Projects to Go: 0!

All projects are finished! Check back here after Christmas to see pictures of everything all together, and all of the super secret projects!
August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

