Nachos!

It has been extremely hot here these past few days. I always find it a challenge to get excited about eating anything when it’s this hot, especially since using the stove or oven for more than a few minutes is out of the question since we don’t have air conditioning.

Last night I made these nachos – they were just perfect. The base was refried beans and melted jack cheese, the warmness of which was offset by lettuce and black olives. On the side is some salsa, sour cream and guacamole I made from the excellent recipe posted by Catnip and Coffee.

I tried to make this the healthiest version of nachos that I could – I used vegetarian refried beans, low fat sour cream and tried out some multi-grain chips (which were actually pretty good!).

As I was putting this all together, I realized that I felt a little silly plating out nachos for myself. Ever since I started blogging, I automatically try to make a pretty presentation even though I’m going to sit in front of the TV and nosh it all down in under 15 minutes. But then I thought about it a little more, and it really makes dinner feel a little bit more special, so I think I’ll keep my strange little habit!

1 Response to “Nachos!”


  1. 1 catnip35 June 11, 2008 at 8:40 am

    I’m blushing, thanks :)
    That plate of nachos looks lovely – I always forget to take pictures when I’m cooking – then when I want to blog a recipe I have nothing to show!


Leave a Reply

craftykeg’s blog

Craft, food, fun and creativity all come together here!

Subscribe to craftykeg!

Handmade Christmas

Projects Done: 34
Projects to Go: 0!

All projects are finished! Check back here after Christmas to see pictures of everything all together, and all of the super secret projects!
June 2008
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

