French Bustle

I’ve never bustled a wedding dress before, and I was a little nervous working on my best friend’s dress, but I think it came out alright. I tweaked it a little more after we took this picture so it doesn’t hit the floor quite as much anymore, but she wasn’t wearing shoes when we did this, so I left it a little long. (As an aside, I’m not sure that I could wait less than two weeks before my wedding to get shoes, but that’s another story!)

It looks really pretty when she moves too, and it only takes a minute to put up or down. I think the best part about a french bustle is that it is all hidden on the inside of the dress, so it’s easier to make things more functional without having to also worry about making them pretty!

9 Responses to “French Bustle”


  1. 1 goffcouture May 21, 2008 at 2:11 pm

    This is beautiful! Did you sew the gown as well, or just do the alteration for her?

  2. 2 craftykeg May 21, 2008 at 2:25 pm

    I didn’t sew the gown – it’s just from David’s Bridal, but thanks for thinking that I have that kind of skill! :)

  3. 3 Jana March 1, 2009 at 6:25 pm

    Hi,
    Can I ask how you got the info to do this? I’ve been google-ing but have not really found details on how to do it..
    I sew a little and knit – any help would be great!

  4. 4 cynthia788 March 17, 2009 at 12:16 pm

    Hi, jana
    I Have been trying to do a bustle Myself.
    I found this website http://www.sewdub.com/bustle2.html
    I hope this helps I am doing a bustle on my dress I get married on the 22nd of march .

  5. 5 Jana March 17, 2009 at 9:57 pm

    Hi thanks for the info = I’m not sure why but the web site you gave me is not working…

  6. 6 Peggy March 19, 2009 at 9:29 am

    the websire that was given looks like it may be
    http://sewdeb.com/bustle2.html

  7. 7 Krista March 19, 2009 at 9:40 am

    Thank you Peggy for finding the right link! Those are pretty good instructions. I think what is hard to realize (at least, it was for me!) is that all of the attachment points are on the inside of the skirt, nothing should show through to the outside. I also recommend doing as many of the pickups along seam lines if it all possible.

  8. 8 Gloria August 22, 2009 at 12:40 am

    I am going to try it for the first time. The ribbon through the loops on the inside, is what I am going to try…be blessed

  9. 9 Mineral Notes January 28, 2010 at 2:33 am

    I am having a French bustle done on my wedding dress this year. So simple and elegant. Beautiful job!


Leave a Reply

craftykeg’s blog

Craft, food, fun and creativity all come together here!

Subscribe to craftykeg!

Handmade Christmas

Projects Done: 34
Projects to Go: 0!

All projects are finished! Check back here after Christmas to see pictures of everything all together, and all of the super secret projects!
May 2008
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

