Archive for January 12th, 2010

BBQ Chicken Pizza

More food!  In addition to the crockpot, I also received a pizza stone and peel for Christmas.  I was pretty excited about this – I hate how pizza tends to be soggy in the middle and burnt around the edges, so I was pretty sure that the pizza stone would solve all of my problems.

The inaugural pizza was BBQ chicken.  I bought the dough fresh at the grocery store and topped it with barbeque sauce, a ton of red onion, bacon, chicken and mozzarella cheese.  In reading the instructions for the peel, they noted that you should dust it with cornmeal before putting the dough down.  I would like to know their definition of the word dust, because my pizza got horribly stuck!  I had to lift up the edges and keep throwing more and more cornmeal underneath the pizza to make it slide off the peel and onto the stone.  I did manage it eventually, and a major dinner crisis was averted.  So, in all – a liberal coating of the peel would be a good idea!

Verdict?  The pizza stone rocks!  The bottom of the crust was crispy, but the inside wasn’t overdone.  It was probably the best pizza I have ever made!


craftykeg’s blog

Craft, food, fun and creativity all come together here!

Subscribe to craftykeg!

Handmade Christmas

Projects Done: 34
Projects to Go: 0!

All projects are finished! Check back here after Christmas to see pictures of everything all together, and all of the super secret projects!
January 2010
S M T W T F S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31