Crazy Knitting Sunday

This is what I did on Sunday, since it was far too cold to even think about going outside.

The pattern is Pippi from PDXKnitterati.  It was beyond fun to knit, and the color changes kept things very interesting.  The yarn is all Patons Classic Wool Merino – I had a bunch left over from Christmas knitting.

For only my third colorwork project, I’m pretty happy with how it turned out.  (Yup, still loving that macro setting!)

This was the first time I’ve crocheted an edging onto a knit piece, and I’m not sure I’m so great at it.  I did just kindof wing it though.  It looks a little wonky up close, but so far no one seems to have noticed.  I was lazy though and didn’t really block it, even though the pattern calls for a steam blocking to remove the slight curl that remains after the edging is applied.  But, a few days of wearing-the-hat-while-it-snows-and-rains-blocking seems to have worked out just was well.

Also of note during the cold weekend was some yummy sweet potato soup that we made, mostly because I was dying to use my new immersion blender.  It was crazy easy, but I forgot to take pictures (just picture orange liquid in a bowl, really).  Mostly it went like this:  Remove the flesh from 6 cooked sweet potatoes, add 2 things of yogurt and 32 oz chicken broth.  Blend.  Add to onions cooked in a little bit of butter.  Blend some more.  Simmer 15 minutes then add about 1 tsp nutmeg and a shot of sherry.  Cook another 10 minutes.  Eat.  It was a bit thick for a soup, but it was really rich and tasty.  We made it Saturday night and then had leftovers on Sunday.  Yum!

1 Response to “Crazy Knitting Sunday”


  1. 1 pdxknitterati January 29, 2009 at 8:28 pm

    Love the hat! I don’t really crochet, either; I had to look up half double crochet when I designed the first hat because single crochet (the only stitch I know) wasn’t phat enough. When I made the 3rd hat (shop model), I used double crochet because I had forgotten how to do half double. It’s all good. I do love how the pattern changes all the time so it’s just 5 rows of this or that, and pretty soon you have a hat!

    Soup sounds yummy.


Leave a Reply

craftykeg’s blog

Craft, food, fun and creativity all come together here!

Subscribe to craftykeg!

Handmade Christmas

Projects Done: 34
Projects to Go: 0!

All projects are finished! Check back here after Christmas to see pictures of everything all together, and all of the super secret projects!
January 2009
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

