Archive for June 13th, 2008

Chocolate Cupcakes With Caramel Frosting

I appear to be on a bit of a food kick lately! I made these cupcakes for a meeting I have today. The lab I work in was split into two groups for what amounts to an extended homework problem. Our boss gave our teams names – Team Butterfly vs. Team Cupcake. (Guess which team I’m on!) I promised my team cupcakes for today’s meeting, so here they are. Both the cake and frosting recipes came from my Better Homes and Garden New Baking Book. The cake is the Classic Chocolate Cake and the frosting is Penuche Frosting. The cupcakes baked up very nicely, with the perfectly shaped tops.

I’m a little wary of the frosting. I think it’s supposed to be pretty heavy and dense, but I had a really hard time spreading it onto the cupcakes. I think that if I made it again, I would use less powdered sugar to change the consistency of it a bit. I’ve always been very happy with everything that comes from this cookbook, so I’m sure that they will be well received by Team Cupcake!


craftykeg’s blog

Craft, food, fun and creativity all come together here!

Subscribe to craftykeg!

Handmade Christmas

Projects Done: 34
Projects to Go: 0!

All projects are finished! Check back here after Christmas to see pictures of everything all together, and all of the super secret projects!
June 2008
S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930